knightleft Welcome to

Mutual Chess Circle


The club
Venue and times
League games
Membership info
Club members and their grades.

Contact us

Mutual's winning ways back in the 2008/9 season

Reproduced - A Mutual Magazine from 1950

A Mutual Membership Card from the 1923/4 season

21 Mutual Magazines from 1946 - 1951. See them here

April 2010 - Another dicovery of three old Mutual Magazines (1946 - 1948). Click here to view

November 2010 - Four more old Mutual Magazines found (1948 - 1949). Click here to see them

The rules of chess you should know

All About Chess: A Game of Sheer Intelligence

- - - - top 5 best betting apps in india

The club

'Mutual' was founded in 1920 by T.W. (Tom) Bladon and, at that time, the club had no room in which to hold its meetings. For this reason, the founding members decided to organise a rota whereby chess was played alternately at their various homes, and this is how Mutual Chess Circle got its name.

Venue and times

The Club meets in the Kings Heath area of South Birmingham:
Tuesday evenings starting at 7.15pm from September to May at:
The Stadium (Sports and Social Club), Wheelers Lane, Kings Heath,Birmingham, B13 0ST. Telephone: 0121 687 2465.

The Stadium is on the A4040 in Wheelers Lane, Kings Heath, on the edge of Billesley Common. Car parking is available.

Buses: No 11 goes to the New Billesley, Wheelers Lane and is 5 minutes walk from The Stadium. Buses 2, 3, 3A go along Yardley Wood Road to the fire station at Swanshurst Park and is 10 minutes walk from The Stadium. Bus 76 goes from the QE through Selly Oak to the roundabout at Wheelers Lane by The Stadium and is 3 minutes walk from The Stadium. Also Bus 27 runs from Yardley Wood Garage to The Stadium (3 minutes walk) or from Vicarage Road (Kings Heath) to The Stadium (3 minutes walk). Detailed maps available from Mutual on request.

By car: from the city centre take the A435 (Alcester Road) to the traffic lights junction with A4040 (Howard Road). Turn left into Howard Road and turn left again at the next roundabout and The Stadium is imediately on your right. There is a long drive; so aim for the end of the main building where there is plenty of parking space. There is a bar and light refreshments. Our clubroom is located on the first floor.

League games

We have about 20 players and in 2015/16 will be running teams in divisions 3, 4 and 5 of the Birmingham & District Chess League.

Mutual Circle has been an active member of the Birmingham & District Chess League since 1923.
When league matches are played, they start at 7.30pm.

Membership Information

New members are very welcome - just drop in or contact Chris or John (see below).

We welcome new players of all strengths (although we are not equipped to provide tuition to complete beginners or young children).

The Club's normal membership subscription is currently £28 per year, but under18's, students, and people receiving state benefits or the state retirement pension can pay a discounted rate of £14. (Pro rata payment arrangements can be made for those who join mid-season). In addition, it is a club requirement that all our members become associate members of our venue, The Stadium Club, at a fixed cost of £12 per annum. (This fee entitles members to use the Stadium's bar and other facilities on non-chess nights, too). Players who regularly take part in League matches must also join the English Chess Federation (basic membership fee: £14 per year for adults, £10 for juniors). Prospective members are encouraged to come along free to a couple of club-nights before deciding whether to join.

Contact details

More information can be obtained from , Club Secretary, 28 Birchwood Road, Balsall Heath, Birmingham B12 8BP Tel: 0121 247 9236. Messages regarding this website should be sent to me: , or just come along to a club night. Please note that we normally close down for the summer from the end of May to the end of August.

Visit the Birmingham & District Chess League site,  Sutton Coldfield Chess Club Olton Chess Club,  Tamworth & District Chess Club, or the English Chess Federation.